MAYOR'S COMMISSION ON THE STATUS OF WOMEN

MEETING MINUTES

Wednesday, October 13, 2021 STAAMP Allergy 314 E. Hildebrand, San Antonio, TX 78212 5:30 p.m. – 6:30 p.m.

Commission Present:	Dr. Adena Williams Loston, Mayoral Dr. Erika Gonzalez, District 1 – Chair Jennipha Ricks, District 2 Vanessa Martinez, District 3 (virtual) Dr. Cynthia Teniente Matson, District 4 Geraldine Garcia, District 5 Leticia Gonzales, District 6 (virtual) Dr. Lyssa Ochoa, District 7 (virtual) Suzanne Hernandez, District 9 Naomi E. Miller, District 10
Associate Member Present:	
Staff Present:	Alyssa Munoz Lopez, Building & Equipment Services, City of San Antonio Jenny Garcia, City Manager's Office (virtual) Shreya Shah, City Attorney's Office
Public:	Kayla Moilanen Krystina Irvin

Roll Call

Dr. Erika Gonzalez opened the meeting. Roll was called at 5:34 p.m. Quorum was established.

I. Approval of Minutes:

Naomi E. Miller made the motion to approve May meeting minutes. Dr. Cynthia Matson seconded the motion.

II. New Business:

<u>Presentation by Naomi Taylor and Krystina Irvin:</u> Naomi Taylor was unable to attend. Krystina Irvin, Director of Experiential Learning and Community Engagement, Texas A&M University – San Antonio, presented an update on the MCSW Intern program. Intern goals would be to create a program

Notes Provided by Suzanne Hernandez, District 9 Prepared by Jenny Garcia, City of San Antonio calendar for the year as well as partner with community organizations.

The Commission would like to explore the opportunity to present an update to City Council. *Jenny Garcia will follow up with City Staff on process for scheduling.*

Junior Commissioners: The Commission will revisit Junior Commissioners at the next meeting.

<u>Secretary Role:</u> The Commission asked for the most recent version of the commission by-laws. *Shreya Shah will review and provide for the next meeting.*

Dr. Gonzales asked for volunteers to form a Nominations Committee. The Nominations Committee will meet to discuss upcoming Officer elections and present to the Commission at the next meeting.

Nominations Committee: Jennipha Ricks (District 2), Naomi E. Miller (District 10), Leticia Gonzales (District 6), Vanessa Martinez (District 3)

<u>Announcement and Future Items</u>: Jenny Garcia will be the new City of San Antonio staff liaison for the Commission. Next meeting is scheduled for Wednesday, November 10, 2021.

Meeting adjourned at 6:25 p.m.